Poker News NEWS

Biggest World Series of Poker Winners

Published by on July 16, 2019

On Tuesday 16th July, we’ll discover the winner of the Main Event in the 2019 World Series of Poker. And to celebrate, we’ve teamed up with the team at bgo slots casino to look back at some of the biggest Main Event winners from years gone by.

Held in Las Vegas every year since 1970, the World Series of Poker (or WSOP) is the most prestigious annual series of poker tournaments on the planet. Each year concludes with a $10,000 buy-in Texas Hold ‘Em showdown, known as the Main Event. The winner leaves the table with a coveted gold bracelet and millions of dollars in prize money.

Amongst some of history’s biggest winners is Peter Eastgate. Aged just 22, Eastgate won $9,152,416 from the 2008 Main Event, making him the youngest champion in WSOP history.

Swedish poker star Martin Jacobson won even bigger a few years later. He beat the competition to take home $10 million and become Sweden’s first ever Main Event winner in 2014.

But it’s Jamie Gold who hold the record Main Event win. The American player won $12 million in 2006. Will this year’s champion steal his title? Keep your eyes on the 2019 Main Event to find out.


Readers Rating:
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
add your comment add this to delicious add this to digg share this on facebook Stumble this item